The New Backup Plan


A year ago this March I sat in a room and took a NY state test for a state job. I was a college undergrad planning for my future and this was my backup plan.

In high school planning for college all my friends and I always had a backup plan. There was always one safety school on the list that wouldn’t deny you even if you did fail that last semester of calculus or A.P. English (Zesty Annie knows what I’m talking about).

We hoped and prayed that we would never have to actually go to the backup school, but sometimes things didn’t work out. In my case the backup plan became the only plan, which was pretty depressing at the time.

Four years later I’m a graduate of SUNY New Paltz and I loved every challenge, every friend made, and have come to gain perspectives from the meltdowns (no one ever loves the meltdowns even when reflecting on it).

When it came time to graduate this test was my backup plan. Now my backup plan is my only plan as I took the next state test for the next level position. Its an opportunity.

It made me realize though that I DO need a backup plan in a way, a safe place that won’t reject even if my spelling sucks (thank you spell check and Zesty Annie). So that is what this blog is going to be; its my outlet and ultimately my back up plan for all my writing.

2 Comments on “The New Backup Plan”

  1. ajakominic says:

    I know what you mean. Backup plans are sometimes the best things that can happen to a person

  2. ZestyAnnie says:

    Isn’t it funny how life works out this way?


Leave a Reply

